Seeking wee bit of advice

Want to talk about something? Life? Faith? This is the place.
Joannes23

Post by Joannes23 » Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:52 pm

Hi everyone,

I posted an introduction as I am a newbie here.

I have been looking for some one to talk to other than my partner about this particular subject and I hope that some of you can give me good advice :-)

I was brought up believing in the Lord. I used to be a member of the baptist church( my whole family are protestant). But now I am engaged to a wonderful man who is a practicing catholic i have decided to broaden my faith and take RCIA instruction at our local chapel. I will be baptised, receive my first holy communion and be confirmed in april 2013 and I can't wait.
My mother always said to me that I was to make my own decisions and take the journey I wish to follow the lord.

The thing that worries me a lot of my family members do not approve of my conversion and one in particular has turned his back on me completely. He has said to me that I am letting my self down by converting to Catholicism.

I feel so drawn to my partners religion and I feel so strongly about my decision to convert. I want to take this path as I feel it will bring my closer to god.

I also have a wee boy, from a previous relationship.
What concerns me here is that he will feel left out as he grows older and wonders why he is not catholic? But because his dad also disproves of my catholic conversion he would disapprove of our son becoming one to.

I can't help feeling a bit guilty for converting and possibly leaving my son out of this?
If me and my current partner (we are marrying in 2014) have children, they will be brought up catholic.

Is there any advice any one can give me? I just need a wee bit of clarity that what I am doing is ok.

Why do my family object so much? Why do I feel guilty, yet I cant wait to go through the whole process?

bless you all for taking the time to read this xxxx

Ros

Post by Ros » Thu Nov 01, 2012 1:40 pm